"Governors visit the school regularly to gather first-hand information. As a result, they have a good understanding of the school’s strengths and areas for improvement. They use this knowledge to support and challenge leaders successfully"

- Estyn, 2019


Welcome from the chair of governors

Welcome to the Governor’s section of the Carreghofa County Primary School website


The Board of Governors is responsible for the oversight of the school to ensure that pupils receive the highest standards and quality of education, in line with national requirements and expectations. Our role is to provide independent and supportive oversight of the school’s curriculum, staffing, finances and policies. We meet regularly throughout the year and, through our committee structure and our visits, we support and monitor the on-going work and development of the school. We are proud to support the work of a school which, in 2022, is celebrating 110 years of being at the heart of our village’s life and community.


On this part of the site you will find information about the work of the Board of Governors. If you would like to know more, or if you would like to help us with our work, please contact me through the School Office. 


Dr Richard Dover

Chair, Board of Governors

Carreghofa CP School





Dr. Richard Dover

Miss Susanne Walker

Mrs. Claire Pritchard

Cllr. Arwel Jones

Mr. Tom Roberts

Mrs. Helen Owen

Mrs. Kat Poyser

Mrs. Lee-Anna Clements

Mrs. Beverley Rhodes

Miss. Jane Griffith

Mr. Garry Hunter

Clerk, Mrs. Olga Pugh.